Change the world

Centre for Law in Action

The key legal staff members of ILA are:

  • Prof Dr HJ van As (Advocate of the High Court)
  • Mr D Nel (Local Government Practitioner)

The team has provided legal advice and assistance to numerous municipalities including:

  • King Sabata Dalindyebo
  • Ndlambe
  • Hessequa
  • Camdeboo
  • Eden District Municipality
  • Knysna
  • Bitou
  • Koukamma
  • Nelson Mandela Metropole
  • Cape Town
  • Oudtshoorn
  • Makana
  • Breede Valley
  • Matatiele
  • Alfred Nzo District Municipality
  • Kouga
  • Blue Crane Route
  • Mossel Bay

The team has been appointed to provide Municipal legal services to the Bergrivier Municipality.

Professor van As also drafted a number of legal opinions on local government matters on instructions received from attorneys.

Prof van As was a member of the SA Law Reform Commission Work Group 25 to revise local government legislation.


Contact information
Ms Elma M. Scheepers
Financial Assistant
Tel: 27 41 504 1193

Professor Hendrik Van As
Professor of Public Law and Director of the Centre for Law in Action (CLA)
Tel: 27 41 504 1200